When there is no breath left in you – just exhale

I don’t know about you, but sometimes, just sometimes, sitting at work, or with family, or with a partner,I feel like there’s nothing left inside me to give. Of course, I do the most logical thing that I can think of then – I hold my breath, tighten, scrunch. Why? Because it’s the only thing I have left in me. What happens? My chest tightens, and occasionally, I go into such a state of panic that I just walk out.  Sadly, I’m one of the lucky ones. I have yet to turn blue or pass out from holding my breath. It’s just panic. Nothing that we can’t handle once in a while.

Now when I think about it, the title of that old Whitney Houston movie, “Waiting to Exhale,” makes a lot of sense (even though I can’t remember the movie much).  There really are times, when you’re sitting there, and you’re just waiting to exhale. What’s stopping you? Well, unless someone really is trying to cause you harm, it’s just you who is stopping yourself.

When we have a short supply of anything, our natural instinct is to hold on to it. It’s just how we are, and most of the time, we don’t notice it. Think of this – when you are heartbroken, the logical thing to do is hold back on loving.  And when you’re a bit broke, at the end of the month, it’s really not a time when you want to go out and donate to charity.

Know that saying, “you have to spend money to make money?” The world works like that.  It goes the same for love. Sometimes, you can’t just sit around waiting for someone to love you so that you can give love.  Sometimes, you just have to get out there and send your love out into the air. Something is going to take, spin it round, and turn it into a bigger love before it comes back to you.

The natural order of things is that you have to give to get back. If everyone stopped exhaling, where would plants get the carbon dioxide to make oxygen? I’m only assuming that science hasn’t changed its mind in the last 20 years here. It could be some other thing now, but the basic principle is that we expel something then something in the world takes it, spins it round, turns it into something else, and then it comes back our way. So, on days when you feel that there’s no breath left in you – just go ahead and exhale. Breath will come back to you in abundance.

It doesn’t have to be complicated – Just exhale….

One thought on “When there is no breath left in you – just exhale

Leave a Reply

